CEFRとは/What is CEFR?

ヨーロッパ言語共通参照枠(Common European Framework of Reference for Languages: Learning, teaching, assessment, 以下 CEFR)は2001年に欧州評議会が発行した外国語教育共通の枠組です。ヨーロッパだけでなく世界中で、汎用的な外国語教育の学習・教育・評価の枠組として急速に利用が拡大しています。その応用範囲は大変広く、外国語政策、シラバス開発、テスト開発から、個別学習システムや教員養成・研修プログラムの改善まで、外国語教育分野のマクロからミクロ・レベルの現状分析と問題点の可視化、改善方法を検討する「ツール」として用いられています。
The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) was Issued by the foreign language policy division at the Council of Europe in 2001. It aims to serve as a common reference “tool” for describing and evaluating the common practice in foreign language learning, teaching and Assessment at all levels. The applications will cover a broad range of domains from foreign language policy making, syllabus & curriculum development, test development and alignment, to individualized learning and teacher training programs.

日本でも国際交流基金が CEFRをもとに日本語教育の枠組を構築し「JF スタンダード」を公開しており、また英語ではCEFRに基づくより精密な枠組として「CEFR-J」を、本学の投野由紀夫教授、根岸雅史教授らが中心で構築してきました。
In our country, the Japan Foundations constructed a framework for teaching/learning Japanese as a foreign language called the JF Standard. Also, a more fine-grained framework based on the CEFR for English language learning and teaching in Japan has been developed and called the CEFR-J. The principal investigators of the CEFR-J project are Professor Yukio Tono and Professor Masashi Negishi, both working at TUFS.

CEFRの歴史的背景 / The History Behind CEFR

The Council of Europe was established in 1949 after the Second World War. For more than 30 years, the Language Policy Division and the European Centre for Modern Languages have been policy makers for the research of language teaching; what has come of this is the CEFR.

CEFRの目的 / The Aim of CEFR

The CEFR measures the progress of the student and aims to have them stretch to mastery of a language. In order to do this, it offers a number of services. As a member of the Council of Europe, students and educators are offered language learning and teaching materials such as syllabuses, a curriculum, guidelines, exams and teaching materials to provide a qualitative improvement for a common learning framework, description and index; a description of the knowledge and skills for effective language communication; and a cultural explanation of language with regard to context

CEFRで用いられるレベルと技能 / Levels and Skills within CEFR

Language ability is divided into 6 levels ranging from A1-C2 and 5 skills (1. Listening; 2. Reading; 3. Conversation; 4. Speech; 5. Writing).

CEFRについて参照リンク/Links for more information regarding CEFR